Posted on

Addressing The $#!+

So, here’s a thing….Yesterday, our family had a very major and craptastic event, which I can’t really talk about here.

A lot of times when things are hard we, the whole group of humans, just need to say, “Hey! Anyone who will pay attention! I’m hurting, here!” I had one of those moments and I posted, “The shit hath hitteth the fan.” And if the shit hadn’t hit the fan already, it certainly did then.

Some well-meaning iron sharpeners (Proverbs 27:17 https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Proverbs+27%3A17&version=NIV#) proceeded to try and “sharpen” me.

If I had said poop or doo doo or crap or bull hockey or dookie or fieces, I still would have meant “shit”. Not a single person that read that post would be any the wiser. All would be right in the pretty, perfect, pretender church world. BUT. *Jesus* would know that I was a liar.

Now, I can’t find any scripture about going to hell for saying “shit”, BUT I *do* know that Revelation 21:8 says, But as for cowards and the unfaithful, and the polluted, and murderers, fornicators, and those who practise magic or worship idols, and all liars–the portion allotted to them shall be in the Lake which burns with fire and sulphur…”

You can judge me. You can criticize me. You can correct me. I would rather be in right standing with Jesus than anyone else ANY day.

The good thing about this situation is, I’m confident in who I am and who I am in HIM and what He has placed SO BIG in my heart that if I don’t do it….I’M GONNA BUST! Nobody else has to understand or approve of or answer for my journey. It is mine. I love it, and it is beautiful.

12 responses to “Addressing The $#!+

  1. I think you are fabulous, my dear. God sees hearts and He is the one who matters. I had a day like this, yesterday…and posted about it, too. Someone told me I was a “bad Christian” and that I act like an unbeliever. I honestly believe God would disagree with that particular individual and these blanket statements. 😐 But, oh well. I am sure the same can be said in your situation. Best wishes to you and your family!

  2. tarasview ⋅

    well of COURSE they did.

    Because people SUCK.

    And I’m sorry the shit hit the fan.

    😦

    xo Tara

  3. Tara Sloan ⋅

    I’m a former pastor’s wife and I had to laugh when I read this! Really!!!??? Let me tell you something … Sometimes ‘shit’ happens! And people can call it whatever they want, make it sound ‘cute’ or try to put a Christianese spin on it BUT at the end of the day it ALL smells the same! Girl- what folks don’t realize is that the fact you can go through it and still come out with your salvation grounded trumps any and every word you ever utter to interpret what goes on! God GETS us… And He loves us no matter what! Sincerely- Someone on Your Side 🙂

  4. This is all the wonderful stuff that makes you The Worst Preachers Wife EVER!!

  5. Donna

    I thought it was courageous of you to say it like that! LOL
    Honesty is really the best policy and you were right in saying, if you said it any other way you would not be telling the truth.
    I think I need a good dose of courage too!
    Keep on being yourself in a world of fakers. NO judgement here!
    Donna A

  6. Lori Arnold ⋅

    Love love love your honest, down to earth normalcy! I know Jesus does too! :). We miss you guys!!

  7. Kimberly

    My favorite thing about you is your commitment to authenticity. I read excerpts of your blog (especially “Thank you Sir, for pissing on my flowers”) at workshops I do for women. AND I’m sure to mention that you are a pastor’s wife who proudly does not fit the religious mold. I do this because there is freedom in grace and freedom in truth. Even if it’s not so pretty and it’s about ourselves. And women desperately need to know that.

    You don’t need to cite chapter & verse to me as it relates to this “scandal.” (Heehee I chuckle just calling it that.) I love Jesus too and I know him well enough to know that He hates religion. He hates that more than He could ever hate the word shit or anyone who says it. Religion in the form of legalism separates us from God – it is opposed to His Grace. You, my dear, are a child of God who knows AND gives Grace. So sad for those who aren’t and don’t.

    I will call it a wrap with a question to you, to all of us:

    If you are going to err (which we all will due to our humanity) would you rather err on the side of grace or on the side of legalism?

    😊

  8. Yolanda Lickteig ⋅

    Love you!

  9. Woody Meredith ⋅

    I had a prof. in seminary that told us; “Remember, you’re dealing with sinners who think they’re saints. Show them the error of their ways.” Maybe, in your case he would say; “Shit happens.” Oh well, it’s a great day!!!!

  10. You go sista! Love you and am ALWAYS here for you!

  11. Melissa Ruddick ⋅

    Honesty is the best policy and you ROCK

  12. rejoysfull ⋅

    At least you didn’t use the ‘f’ word – now that would be some heavy dog dirt … 🙂 I said “darn” in the presence of a church secretary once and she took offence – then I said the REAL word – and she was more offended … hey – I’m not 5! 🙂 LOL!

Leave a Reply

